Most countries will not join the diplomatic boycott of the Beijing Winter Olympics–International Olympic Committee

International Olympic Committee

International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach said that most of the 90 governments participating in the 2022 Beijing Winter Olympics did not choose to participate in the diplomatic boycott of the Winter Olympics.

The United States, the United Kingdom, Australia and other countries recently announced a diplomatic boycott of the Beijing Winter Olympics from February 4 to 20 due to China’s human rights record. China regards this position as a “political posture.”

In the EU, France and other countries have sought a joint response from the EU, but the EU is entangled in whether to join the diplomatic boycott, and is worried that China’s retaliation will harm trade.

“Countries like the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia have made such a decision,” Bach told German media ZDF on Tuesday evening.

“There are several other countries, not just a few. If we say that 90 National Olympic Committees will attend the East Olympics, it is very likely that the governments of more than 70 or even more than 80 countries have not made such a statement.”

“But they all have one thing in common, that is, they support their Olympic team… so that their athletes can realize their Olympic dreams,” Bach said.

Related Posts

Robert Warner

Robert Warner is a journalism graduate with keen interest in covering business news – specifically startups. He has as a keen eye for technologies and has predicted quite a few successful startups over the last couple of years. His goal with this website is to report accurately on all kinds of stock news, and have a great deal of passion for technical and active reporting. Robert is diligent and proactive when it comes to news reporting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.